film, brilliance and failure

I’ve just found an interesting online film magazine called The Big Picture, thanks to the Geography Matters page on Facebook.  It’s mostly rather formalist crit, but I particularly liked browsing the reviews that the mag has grouped together in the category of ‘Brilliant Failures’.

I think I might possibly manage to get to see a film tonight, and as usual I’m torn between going to a Hollywood blockbuster or an arthouse hit.  I have a horrible feeling that both will probably be more failure than brilliant, given the choice I have locally…. but I guess that’s one advantage of researching visual culture, that both will count as part of it.

Leave a Reply

